Halden Cartographic Systems
- The documents do not say whether your data trains AI.
- The documents do not say whether your data is used for ads.
- Data is shared only with the providers who run the service.
- The documents do not say who can read your content.
A mapping app that collects account, device, and location data, does not sell it, and keeps some records for years.
Agent Trust Hub uses AI and may make mistakes. Review reports and confirm their contents before relying on them.
Collected
Account details, payment info, device IDs, cookies, and location if you allow it.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“When you create an account, contact support, or submit content through our services, you may provide information such as your name, email address, postal address, telephone number, payment card details”
Training
They use it to run maps, your account, payments, support, personalization, and marketing if you agree.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“To provide, maintain, and improve the Halden services; To create and manage your account; To process payments and prevent fraudulent transactions;”
Sharing
They say they do not sell your data; they share it with companies that help run the service.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“We do not sell your personal information. We share personal information only in the following circumstances:”
Kept
Account data lasts the account plus 24 months; billing records can be kept 7 years.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“Typical retention periods are: account data — for the duration of the account plus 24 months; billing and tax records — 7 years; support communications — 24 months; security and audit logs — 12 months.”
Controls
You can turn off location in device settings and ask them by email to access or delete your data.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“To exercise any of these rights, please contact us using the details in Section 10.”
Fine print
The privacy policy has no date. We could not read terms about lawsuits, closing accounts, or refunds.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“By using our services you acknowledge that you have read and understood this Policy.”
Expand “Read the exact line” to see the source alongside the explanation.
What you can turn off
The controls and opt-outs their own documents describe, and where they say to find them.
Turn off precise location
Your device settings for the app
Control cookies in your browser
Your browser settings
Ask to access or delete your data
Contact the Data Protection Officer at privacy@halden.example (Section 10)
Withdraw marketing consent
Use the consent withdrawal they describe for marketing communications
If a switch is not where they say, the deletion request above still applies.
Line by line
The lines that matter most, worst first.
If you allow it, they collect your exact location to give you maps and routes.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“If you grant our applications permission to access precise location data, we will collect that data to provide our core navigation and routing features.”
For example, turning on location while navigating can send your live position to their servers.
Other companies can send them extra information about you, including marketing partners.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“We may receive information about you from third parties such as identity providers, payment processors, and marketing partners in accordance with their own privacy notices.”
For example, a marketing partner might tell them you clicked an ad before you signed up.
Some of your data stays long after you stop using the app, including billing records for seven years.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“Typical retention periods are: account data — for the duration of the account plus 24 months; billing and tax records — 7 years; support communications — 24 months; security and audit logs — 12 months.”
For example, even after you close the account, they may still keep payment records for seven years.
They say they do not sell your personal information, and they list when they share it.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“We do not sell your personal information. We share personal information only in the following circumstances:”
For example, they would not sell your email list, but they still send data to their hosting and payment companies.
Companies that help them run the service can see your information.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“Service providers. We share information with third parties that provide hosting, analytics, payment processing, customer support tooling, and communications infrastructure.”
For example, the company that processes your card payment can see your payment details.
They may email you ads only if you agreed, and you can take that agreement back.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“To send marketing communications where you have consented, and to allow you to withdraw such consent at any time;”
For example, if you ticked a marketing box, you should be able to unsubscribe later.
They describe encryption, limited staff access, and independent security checks.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“These measures include encryption of data in transit and at rest, network segmentation, access controls based on the principle of least privilege, background checks for personnel with access to sensitive systems, and regular security assessments performed by independent third parties.”
For example, your data is supposed to be encrypted while stored, and outside firms review their security.
They say the service is not for kids under 16, but they do not describe a strong age check.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“Our services are not directed to children under the age of 16 and we do not knowingly collect personal information from children under that age.”
For example, a 15-year-old could still type an older age and create an account.
To get a copy of your data or ask them to delete it, you have to contact them, not a button in the app.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“To exercise any of these rights, please contact us using the details in Section 10.”
For example, you would email their privacy contact and wait for them to handle the request.
You can stop precise location collection in your phone or computer settings.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“You can revoke this permission at any time through your device settings.”
For example, you can turn off location for the app in iOS or Android settings.
Words to know
Legal words from the lines above, in plain English.
- sell or share
- Under California law, selling means passing your data to others for money or other value; sharing means passing it on for targeted ads. For example, letting an ad network use your browsing history in return for ad space counts as a sale.
- personal data
- Any information that is about you or can be linked to you, from your name to your phone's ID. For example, your email, your IP address and the list of apps on your phone are all personal data.
- retention
- How long a company keeps your data before deleting it. For example, a policy might keep your messages for 30 days after you delete them, or for as long as it likes.
- precise geolocation
- Your exact position, usually from GPS, often accurate to within a few metres. For example, an app can tell not just your city but which building you are in right now.
- third parties
- Any company or person other than you and the app, such as advertisers, partners or analytics firms. For example, an analytics company that receives a record of every screen you tap is a third party.
- service providers
- Outside companies that handle your data on the app's instructions, such as a cloud host or an email sender. For example, the company that stores the app's files in the cloud sees your data but only does what the app tells it.
- consent
- Your clear agreement to something, given by an action like ticking a box or tapping Accept. For example, a pop-up asking if the app may use your location is asking for consent.
How we got here · grade D · score 37/100 · 14 of 15 policy answers backed by a verified quote · 8 not stated
What does the app collect beyond what it needs to work?
They collect account and payment details you give them, plus IP address, device IDs, cookies, page views, and location if you allow it. Marketing partners may also send them information.
Does it record your voice, face or body, and what happens to that?
The policy does not say they record your voice, face, or body. This is a mapping service, not a voice or camera tool.
Are your chats and uploads used to train AI models, and is that off by default?
Not stated in the documents.
Can employees or contractors read your conversations, and when?
Not stated in the documents.
Are you profiled or tracked for advertising?
Not stated in the documents.
Do they sell or share your data, and can you opt out?
They say they do not sell your personal information. They share it with service providers, in a sale of the company, for legal reasons, or if you ask them to.
What rights do they take over what you type and what the AI makes?
Not stated in the documents.
How long do they keep your data after you delete it, and can you delete it in the app?
You delete by contacting them. Account data can stay for the account plus 24 months, and billing records for 7 years.
Does it build a lasting memory or profile of you, and can you see, edit or turn it off?
Not stated in the documents.
Do they commit to basic security, and have they leaked data?
They describe encryption, access limits, and regular security assessments by independent third parties. They do not mention past leaks.
Is there a real age gate, and are teens protected?
They say the service is not for children under 16 and they do not knowingly collect their data, but they do not describe a real age check.
Will they tell you when the rules change, and is the policy specific?
The privacy policy we could read has no date and does not say they will warn you before the rules change.
Can they close your account without warning, and can you get your data out first?
Not stated in the documents.
If something goes wrong, who pays?
Not stated in the documents.
Do subscriptions renew on their own, and can you get a refund?
Not stated in the documents.
The privacy policy is 1,010 words at a college graduate level (Flesch reading ease 34).