Chime
- The documents do not say whether your data trains AI.
- The documents do not say whether your data is used for ads.
- The documents do not say whether your data is sold or shared.
- The documents do not say who can read your content.
These pages only cover free Chime Plus/Prime perks; they barely mention privacy, training, or how to sue.
Agent Trust Hub uses AI and may make mistakes. Review reports and confirm their contents before relying on them.
Collected
These pages do not say what personal data Chime collects.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“In order to be eligible for and obtain Chime Plus or Chime Prime status, you must have an active Chime Checking Account (“Checking Account”) in good standing and receive the requisite Qualifying Direct Deposits to your Checking Account.”
Training
They use deposit amounts to decide Plus or Prime perks, not AI training.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“By setting up and receiving Qualifying Direct Deposits as set out below, you acknowledge that you have reviewed the Terms and that your Chime Plus or Chime Prime status is governed by these Terms.”
Sharing
Banks, Visa, and lounge partners may be involved; selling data is not described here.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“These terms and conditions (“Chime Membership Tiers Terms and Conditions” or “Terms”) are by and between you (“you,” “your,” or “Member”) and the Bank, Chime and their authorized representatives, service providers, successors, and assigns”
Kept
The documents do not say how long they keep your information.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“Eligibility for Chime Plus status will be determined on an ongoing basis to see if you have received the requisite Qualifying Direct Deposit(s) within the preceding 34 calendar days.”
Controls
You can chat or call support; there is no data-deletion path in this document.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“please contact Member services by sending us a chat from the Chime mobile app or calling 844-244-6363.”
Fine print
They can change these rules anytime without notice; keeping Plus or Prime means you accept.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“We may amend these Terms at any time without prior notice to you, unless required by applicable law. Your continued use of Chime and maintaining either Chime Plus or Chime Prime status after changes to the Terms become effective constitutes your binding acceptance of such changes.”
Expand “Read the exact line” to see the source alongside the explanation.
What you can turn off
The controls and opt-outs their own documents describe, and where they say to find them.
Pick a monthly spend category in the app
Chime mobile app (cash back is forfeited until you select a category)
Contact support about Plus or Prime
Chat in the Chime mobile app or call 844-244-6363
Cancel Priority Pass if you do not want renewal
Call the number on the back of your Chime Card
If a switch is not where they say, the deletion request above still applies.
Line by line
The lines that matter most, worst first.
They can rewrite the membership rules whenever they want and usually do not have to warn you first.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“We may amend these Terms at any time without prior notice to you, unless required by applicable law.”
For example, they could cut cash-back rates overnight and you would only find out in the app.
If you keep using Chime after a change, they treat that as you agreeing to the new terms.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“Your continued use of Chime and maintaining either Chime Plus or Chime Prime status after changes to the Terms become effective constitutes your binding acceptance of such changes.”
For example, even if you never tap Accept, keeping direct deposits could lock you into new rules.
If your paycheck deposits drop, extra perks can disappear without a separate cancellation step.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“In the event that you no longer receive Qualifying Direct Deposits for Chime Plus status, you may lose the status and access to the below listed products and services.”
For example, a missed payroll cycle could drop your savings rate and cash back.
The higher savings rate is not locked in; they can lower it whenever they choose.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“This is a variable rate account. We may, at our discretion, change the interest rate and APY for the Savings Account at any time.”
For example, the Prime APY you saw last month could be smaller next month.
Airport lounge access is not unlimited; extra visits bill your Chime card.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“After the two (2) free visits have been used, the eligible Chime Card holders secured credit card will be charged a lounge visit fee of $35.00 per person per visit.”
For example, a third lounge stop for you and a guest could add $70 to the card.
Priority Pass membership rolls over each year unless you call to cancel.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“Your membership will be automatically renewed for another year at no additional cost, unless you cancel your membership by calling the number on the back of your Chime Card.”
For example, if you lose Prime status later, you may still need to call to stop lounge enrollment.
If a lounge is closed or a perk fails, they say they are not responsible for your loss.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“none of Priority Pass Select, us or Visa are or will be for any loss to a Member or any accompanying guests, arising from the provision or non- provision of any of the benefits, services and facilities.”
For example, if you miss a flight waiting for a lounge that is full, they disclaim that loss.
The Plus and Prime labels themselves do not charge a monthly membership fee.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“There is no cost to you to obtain and maintain Chime Plus TM or Chime Prime TM status. This is not a subscription service.”
For example, you are not billed $9.99 a month just for having Prime status.
The airport lounge program is only for people 18 or older.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“Cardholders must be at least 18 years of age in order to be eligible to be members in the Priority Pass Select program.”
For example, a 17-year-old authorized user could not enroll in Priority Pass under these FAQs.
If you forget to pick a spend category in the app, you get no cash back until you do.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“Failure to select an initial monthly spend category results in forfeiture of cash rewards until you select a category.”
For example, grocery purchases that month would earn $0 until you tap a category.
Words to know
Legal words from the lines above, in plain English.
- service providers
- Outside companies that handle your data on the app's instructions, such as a cloud host or an email sender. For example, the company that stores the app's files in the cloud sees your data but only does what the app tells it.
- limitation of liability
- A cap on what the company will ever pay you if something goes wrong, often only what you paid in the last year. For example, if a leak of your data costs you thousands, the most you may get back is a month's subscription fee.
How we got here · grade F · score 22/100 · 15 of 15 policy answers backed by a verified quote · 13 not stated
What does the app collect beyond what it needs to work?
Not stated in the documents.
Does it record your voice, face or body, and what happens to that?
Not stated in the documents.
Are your chats and uploads used to train AI models, and is that off by default?
Not stated in the documents.
Can employees or contractors read your conversations, and when?
Not stated in the documents.
Are you profiled or tracked for advertising?
Not stated in the documents.
Do they sell or share your data, and can you opt out?
Not stated in the documents.
What rights do they take over what you type and what the AI makes?
Not stated in the documents.
How long do they keep your data after you delete it, and can you delete it in the app?
Not stated in the documents.
Does it build a lasting memory or profile of you, and can you see, edit or turn it off?
Not stated in the documents.
Do they commit to basic security, and have they leaked data?
Not stated in the documents.
Is there a real age gate, and are teens protected?
Not stated in the documents.
Will they tell you when the rules change, and is the policy specific?
They may change the terms anytime without prior notice unless the law requires it, and keeping Plus or Prime counts as acceptance.
Can they close your account without warning, and can you get your data out first?
Not stated in the documents.
If something goes wrong, who pays?
Not stated in the documents.
Do subscriptions renew on their own, and can you get a refund?
They say Plus and Prime status itself has no cost and is not a subscription; extra lounge visits can still be billed.
The terms are 8,645 words at a fairly hard level.