Cryptomator
- The documents do not say whether your data trains AI.
- The policy rules out using your data for targeted ads.
- Data is shared only with the providers who run the service.
- The documents do not say who can read your content.
Encryption stays on your device; the site logs IPs briefly and Hub SaaS bills yearly with German-law terms.
Agent Trust Hub uses AI and may make mistakes. Review reports and confirm their contents before relying on them.
Collected
Website logs, order details if you buy, and optional app update or error data including IP.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“The following data is collected:browser name and versionthe user’s operating systemreferrer URLaccess date and timeIP addressaccessed web siteamount of transmitted data in bytes”
Training
They use data to run the site, process orders, check updates, and do privacy-preserving analytics.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“As a matter of principle, we collect and process personal data of our users only to the extent necessary to provide a functional website and our contents and services.”
Sharing
Payment companies get order and card data; they say they do not share unless needed for the contract.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“We do not share your data with third parties unless required to fulfill contractual obligations or provide necessary services through an authorized service provider acting on our behalf.”
Kept
Website logs last up to 7 days; app logs up to 30 days; Hub data is wiped 30 days after you leave.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“If the data is stored in log files, this is the case after 7 days at the latest.”
Controls
You can email them to object or delete contact data; access, correction, and rights apply.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“You can send your objection informally at any time to [email protected] or any other means of contact provided by us (e.g. by post).”
Fine print
Hub bills 12 months ahead, can raise prices with 3 months’ notice, and you them for your content.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“Invoices shall be issued for 12 months in advance. Unless otherwise agreed (individual agreement, discount campaign or similar), the invoice shall be due for payment immediately.”
Expand “Read the exact line” to see the source alongside the explanation.
What you can turn off
The controls and opt-outs their own documents describe, and where they say to find them.
Email to object or delete contact data
Send an informal objection to [email protected] or by post
Revoke Hub logo/reference marketing
Email [email protected]; revocation is only for the future
Ask for Hub data back before leaving
Demand return at any time; they also support retransfer after termination
Unsubscribe from the newsletter
Use the unsubscribe link in each newsletter
If a switch is not where they say, the deletion request above still applies.
Line by line
The lines that matter most, worst first.
If someone sues them because of what you stored or how you used Hub, you have to cover their costs.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“The Customer shall the Provider against claims asserted by third parties on the basis of a violation of this clause upon first request.”
For example, if a user uploads illegal files and a third party sues Skymatic, you may have to pay their lawyers.
They can raise Hub prices during your contract if they say costs went up, with notice.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“The Provider reserves the right to make an adjustment of the price even during an ongoing contract period.”
For example, they could tell you three months ahead that each active user will cost more next year.
Signing up for Hub lets them use your company name and logo in marketing until you revoke it.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“Upon conclusion of the contract, the Customer grants its express consent that the Provider may name and use the Customer as a reference customer”
For example, your logo could appear on their website as a customer case study.
Checking for app updates sends your IP and software version to their server.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“The following data is transmitted during this request:Operating system versionSoftware versionTime of the requestIP address”
For example, a scheduled update check from your laptop would log your IP with them.
Emails and support chats go into a lasting customer profile, not just a one-off inbox.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“When you contact us, your data is stored in a user profile to process your inquiry, handle follow-up questions, and manage our relationship with you.”
For example, a support email could sit in their CRM with notes for future sales or support.
Files you encrypt in cloud folders stay on your phone or computer; Cryptomator does not get them.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“Any such data is processed solely on the user’s local device. Under no circumstances will we receive any of this data.”
For example, photos in a Dropbox vault are encrypted locally and never sent to Skymatic.
You own Hub metadata on their servers and can ask for it back whenever you want.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“The Customer remains the owner of the data stored on the Provider’s servers and may demand their return at any time.”
For example, you can request a copy of vault access settings before you cancel.
After Hub ends, leftover customer data on their servers is supposed to be wiped within 30 days.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“The Provider shall delete all Customer data remaining on its servers in an unrecoverable manner 30 days after termination of the contractual relationship.”
For example, a month after you cancel, your Hub records should be gone from their servers.
Website log files are not used to target you with ads.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“An evaluation of the data for marketing purposes does not take place in this context.”
For example, visiting the download page should not put you in an ad audience from those logs.
Words to know
Legal words from the lines above, in plain English.
- personal data
- Any information that is about you or can be linked to you, from your name to your phone's ID. For example, your email, your IP address and the list of apps on your phone are all personal data.
- third parties
- Any company or person other than you and the app, such as advertisers, partners or analytics firms. For example, an analytics company that receives a record of every screen you tap is a third party.
- service providers
- Outside companies that handle your data on the app's instructions, such as a cloud host or an email sender. For example, the company that stores the app's files in the cloud sees your data but only does what the app tells it.
- indemnify
- You promise to pay the company's legal costs and losses if your use of the service gets it sued. For example, if you post a song you do not own and the label sues the app, you owe the app's lawyer bills.
- consent
- Your clear agreement to something, given by an action like ticking a box or tapping Accept. For example, a pop-up asking if the app may use your location is asking for consent.
How we got here · grade A · score 58/100 · 15 of 15 policy answers backed by a verified quote · 3 not stated
What does the app collect beyond what it needs to work?
Besides account and order details, they collect website logs, IPs, browser and OS data, and optional app update or error info.
Does it record your voice, face or body, and what happens to that?
The documents do not describe collecting voice, face, or body data.
Are your chats and uploads used to train AI models, and is that off by default?
Not stated in the documents.
Can employees or contractors read your conversations, and when?
Not stated in the documents.
Are you profiled or tracked for advertising?
They say log data is not used for marketing, analytics is self-hosted and pseudonymized, and they do not use unnecessary cookies.
Do they sell or share your data, and can you opt out?
They share order and payment data with processors like PayPal and Stripe, and otherwise say they do not share except with service providers.
What rights do they take over what you type and what the AI makes?
Hub terms say you remain the owner of data on their servers and may demand it back at any time. App vault contents stay local.
How long do they keep your data after you delete it, and can you delete it in the app?
Website logs last up to 7 days and app logs up to 30 days. Deletion of other personal data is via GDPR request or email objection; Hub wipes data 30 days after contract end.
Does it build a lasting memory or profile of you, and can you see, edit or turn it off?
Contact and CRM tools store a profile of inquiries and history; they do not describe in-app view or edit controls for that profile.
Do they commit to basic security, and have they leaked data?
They describe encryption, Android Keystore, iOS Keychain, and state-of-the-art measures, but not an independent audit or VDP.
Is there a real age gate, and are teens protected?
Not stated in the documents.
Will they tell you when the rules change, and is the policy specific?
Both documents have effective dates. They do not clearly promise advance notice of privacy-policy changes.
Can they close your account without warning, and can you get your data out first?
Hub can be ended with one month’s notice; they will help retransfer data and delete leftovers after 30 days. Late payment can pause access.
If something goes wrong, who pays?
Liability is limited under German rental law for slight negligence, and you must indemnify them for claims about your content.
Do subscriptions renew on their own, and can you get a refund?
Hub is billed 12 months in advance at a monthly per-user rate, lasts indefinitely until one month’s notice, and price rises need about three months’ notice. Consumers get a 14-day withdrawal in some cases.
The privacy policy is 3,468 words at a college graduate level (Flesch reading ease 34.1); the terms are 4,156 words at a professional or legal expert level.