Engadget
- The documents do not say whether your data trains AI.
- The documents do not say whether your data is used for ads.
- The documents do not say whether your data is sold or shared.
- The documents do not say who can read your content.
The pages given are news stories, not Engadget’s privacy policy or terms, so almost nothing about this site is stated.
Agent Trust Hub uses AI and may make mistakes. Review reports and confirm their contents before relying on them.
Collected
These pages do not say what Engadget collects about you.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“Starting on October 3rd, apps for Apple's devices are going to be more transparent about what they do with your personal information.”
Training
These pages do not say how Engadget uses your data or trains AI.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“Your content is yours and will never be used to train any generative AI tool”
Sharing
These pages do not say who can see data from Engadget users.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“Apple mandated that all new apps and app updates must have a privacy policy that explains (among other things) what kind of data the software collects”
Kept
These pages do not say how long Engadget keeps your information.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“what kind of data the software collects, how that data is used, and how a user can delete that data.”
Controls
These pages do not describe Engadget settings, deletion, or opt-outs.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“the company emphasized that users can opt out of its product improvement programs”
Fine print
These pages are Adobe and Apple news.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“Following customer outrage over its latest terms of service (ToS), Adobe is making updates to add more detail around areas like of AI and content ownership”
Expand “Read the exact line” to see the source alongside the explanation.
What you can turn off
The controls and opt-outs their own documents describe, and where they say to find them.
Find Engadget’s real privacy policy and terms
Not given in these articles; look on engadget.com for Privacy and Terms links
If a switch is not where they say, the deletion request above still applies.
Line by line
The lines that matter most, worst first.
This line is Adobe talking about Adobe products, not a promise from Engadget about your Engadget use.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“Your content is yours and will never be used to train any generative AI tool”
For example, it does not tell you whether Engadget trains models on comments you leave on articles.
This is about Apple’s App Store rules in 2018, not Engadget’s own collection or deletion rules.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“Apple mandated that all new apps and app updates must have a privacy policy that explains (among other things) what kind of data the software collects, how that data is used, and how a user can delete that data.”
For example, it does not give you a way to delete an Engadget account from these pages.
Readers of Adobe’s terms worried Adobe might claim their files; that fight is not Engadget’s license over your posts.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“Other language was thought to mean that the company could actually take ownership of users' copyrighted material (understandably so, when you see it).”
For example, this does not say whether Engadget can reuse a photo you upload in a comment.
Adobe said people can opt out of product-improvement scanning; Engadget’s documents here do not offer that control.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“the company emphasized that users can opt out of its product improvement programs and that it will more "narrowly tailor" licenses to the activities required.”
For example, you cannot find an Engadget toggle for training or improvement in these articles.
The article doubts people read policies; it still does not publish Engadget’s policy here.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“Whether anyone actually makes it a point to read those privacy policies is another question entirely.”
For example, clicking through these stories still leaves you without Engadget’s data list.
Adobe claimed it does not scan files only on your computer; that is not a statement about Engadget.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“It added that it only scans data on the cloud and never looks at locally stored content.”
For example, it does not say whether Engadget reads drafts you never publish.
Engadget’s writers like clearer policies, but these pages still are not Engadget’s policy.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“Greater transparency in this case is a good thing, and we as users will be able to make better judgments about the apps and services we choose to use.”
For example, you still cannot judge Engadget’s trackers from this text.
Adobe’s execs say companies should put AI rules in binding terms; Engadget did not include its terms in what we got.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“In a world where customers are anxious about how their data is used, and how generative AI models are trained, it is the responsibility of companies that host customer data and content to declare their policies not just publicly, but in their legally binding Terms of Use”
For example, you still do not have Engadget’s legally binding AI or comment rules here.
Words to know
Legal words from the lines above, in plain English.
- personal data
- Any information that is about you or can be linked to you, from your name to your phone's ID. For example, your email, your IP address and the list of apps on your phone are all personal data.
- opt out
- Something is on by default and stays on until you find the setting and turn it off. For example, your chats may be used for training unless you go into settings and switch it off.
How we got here · grade F · score 19/100 · 15 of 15 policy answers backed by a verified quote · 14 not stated
What does the app collect beyond what it needs to work?
Not stated in the documents.
Does it record your voice, face or body, and what happens to that?
Not stated in the documents.
Are your chats and uploads used to train AI models, and is that off by default?
Not stated in the documents.
Can employees or contractors read your conversations, and when?
Not stated in the documents.
Are you profiled or tracked for advertising?
Not stated in the documents.
Do they sell or share your data, and can you opt out?
Not stated in the documents.
What rights do they take over what you type and what the AI makes?
Not stated in the documents.
How long do they keep your data after you delete it, and can you delete it in the app?
Not stated in the documents.
Does it build a lasting memory or profile of you, and can you see, edit or turn it off?
Not stated in the documents.
Do they commit to basic security, and have they leaked data?
Not stated in the documents.
Is there a real age gate, and are teens protected?
Not stated in the documents.
Will they tell you when the rules change, and is the policy specific?
The files are dated news stories, not a dated Engadget privacy policy with notice rules.
Can they close your account without warning, and can you get your data out first?
Not stated in the documents.
If something goes wrong, who pays?
Not stated in the documents.
Do subscriptions renew on their own, and can you get a refund?
Not stated in the documents.
The privacy policy is 333 words at a college level (Flesch reading ease 49.1); the terms are 474 words at a fairly hard level.