Fireflies
- The policy says your content is not used for AI training.
- Your data is used for personalized ads, including by third-party ad companies.
- Data is shared with partners and affiliates; you can opt out.
- The documents do not say who can read your content.
They say they do not train AI on your meetings, but they take a broad license, run ads.
Agent Trust Hub uses AI and may make mistakes. Review reports and confirm their contents before relying on them.
Collected
Account info, meeting audio and video, device data, and sometimes calendars, contacts, and partner data.
No exact line could be verified.
Training
They say they do not train AI on your data, but they do use it for ads, product work, and meeting transcripts.
No exact line could be verified.
Sharing
Vendors, ad partners, integrations you turn on, other meeting people, and sometimes the law can see data.
No exact line could be verified.
Kept
Account data is deleted within 30 days after you close the account; vendors are not supposed to keep meeting files.
No exact line could be verified.
Controls
You can edit or delete some account data in settings, control recap sharing, and opt out of ad targeting.
No exact line could be verified.
Fine print
You must be 18.
No exact line could be verified.
Expand “Read the exact line” to see the source alongside the explanation.
What you can turn off
The controls and opt-outs their own documents describe, and where they say to find them.
Turn off targeted ads and sales
Your Privacy Choices in the site footer, Cookies & Privacy in the mobile Settings menu, or their web form for hashed email/phone ads
Delete account data in the app
https://app.fireflies.ai/settings or live chat / support@fireflies.ai
Cancel a subscription 24 hours early
Cancel the Recurring Subscription at least 24 hours before the end of the current Subscription Period
If a switch is not where they say, the deletion request above still applies.
How we got here · grade F · score 16/100 · 3 of 15 policy answers backed by a verified quote · 3 not stated
What does the app collect beyond what it needs to work?
Besides account and meeting content, they collect device IDs, usage logs, and, if you connect tools, contacts, calendars, and chat from other apps.
Does it record your voice, face or body, and what happens to that?
Vendors may extract voice traits that some laws call biometric data. Fireflies says it does not keep that on its own servers and Illinois rules call for destroying it within three years at most.
Are your chats and uploads used to train AI models, and is that off by default?
They say they do not use personal information or user content to train generative AI, and they contractually bar vendors from training on it.
Can employees or contractors read your conversations, and when?
Not stated in the documents.
Are you profiled or tracked for advertising?
They and advertising partners use cookies, device IDs, and hashed emails to show targeted ads on other sites and apps. You can opt out in the footer, app settings, or a web form.
Do they sell or share your data, and can you opt out?
They say some ad disclosures may count as selling or sharing under state law, and they offer opt-outs via Privacy Choices, a form, or a browser signal.
What rights do they take over what you type and what the AI makes?
You keep rights in your content, but you grant a perpetual, sublicensable license. They say they will use it only to provide the service to you and your group, not to train generative AI.
How long do they keep your data after you delete it, and can you delete it in the app?
You can delete some data in account settings. If you close the account, they say related personal information is deleted within 30 days. Vendors are under a zero-retention rule for meeting files after processing.
Does it build a lasting memory or profile of you, and can you see, edit or turn it off?
Not stated in the documents.
Do they commit to basic security, and have they leaked data?
Not stated in the documents.
Is there a real age gate, and are teens protected?
You must be at least 18. They do not describe extra age checks beyond that stated rule.
Will they tell you when the rules change, and is the policy specific?
The terms are dated March 6, 2026. They may notify you of changes, which can take effect immediately, and keeping using the service counts as agreeing.
Can they close your account without warning, and can you get your data out first?
They may suspend or terminate access if they think you broke the rules, with or without notice, and they can stop offering the service.
If something goes wrong, who pays?
The service is as-is, their payout is capped at $100 or six months of fees, and you must cover their legal costs for claims tied to your use or content.
Do subscriptions renew on their own, and can you get a refund?
Subscriptions keep billing until you cancel at least 24 hours before the period ends. Prices can change at any time without notice, and credits are not refundable.
The privacy policy is 4,546 words at a professional or legal expert level (Flesch reading ease 3); the terms are 9,022 words at a professional or legal expert level.