theguardian
- The documents do not say whether your data trains AI.
- The documents do not say whether your data is used for ads.
- Data is shared with partners and affiliates; you can opt out.
- The documents do not say who can read your content.
Contributor and API terms keep data for copyright life plus 70 years, allow California “sale” opt-out, and let them cut access anytime.
Agent Trust Hub uses AI and may make mistakes. Review reports and confirm their contents before relying on them.
Collected
Name, bank details, contracts, IP address, preferences, and data from tools like Adobe Sign.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“This can include information such as your name, email address, postal address, phone number, mobile number or billing details.”
Training
They use it to run contracts, keep accounts, stop fraud, and email you about the service.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“For internal administrative purposes related to our services - such as our accounting and records.”
Sharing
Group companies and vendors (e-sign, payments, fraud); California users can opt out of “sale.”
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“We may share your data with other organisations that provide services on our behalf.”
Kept
They may keep it for the author’s life plus 70 years because of copyright.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“In most this period extends through the lifetime of the author plus an additional 70 years.”
Controls
Email dataprotection@theguardian.com to access, correct, or ask them to delete your data.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“If you would like to exercise any of your rights specified above, please email dataprotection@theguardian.com”
Fine print
They can cancel API access anytime without notice; English law applies; AI training on their content is banned.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“We may cancel or suspend the OP, or one or all of the API keys issued to you for Your Website(s), at any time for any period and without notice.”
Expand “Read the exact line” to see the source alongside the explanation.
What you can turn off
The controls and opt-outs their own documents describe, and where they say to find them.
Ask for a copy, correction, or deletion of your data
Email dataprotection@theguardian.com or write to the Data Protection Officer, Guardian News & Media Limited, Kings Place, 90 York Way, London N1 9GU
Opt out of California “sale” of personal information
“California resident - Do not sell” link in the footer of every page on theguardian.com
Stop using Open Platform to end the agreement
Cease accessing the OP (clause 10(d)); remove all OP Content from your site
If a switch is not where they say, the deletion request above still applies.
Line by line
The lines that matter most, worst first.
They may keep your personal data for many decades because of copyright on the work.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“In most this period extends through the lifetime of the author plus an additional 70 years.”
For example, bank and contract details tied to an article could stay on file long after you stop working with them.
They can shut off your access immediately and do not have to warn you first.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“We may cancel or suspend the OP, or one or all of the API keys issued to you for Your Website(s), at any time for any period and without notice.”
For example, your site could lose Guardian articles overnight with no email first.
You are not allowed to use Guardian Open Platform content to train AI or similar tools.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“for any machine learning, machine learning language models and/or artificial intelligence-related purposes (including the training or development of such technologies);”
For example, feeding API articles into a chatbot training set would break these terms.
Sharing with some third parties can count as a “sale” in California, though you can opt out.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“These transfers to third parties may constitute “sale” of your personal information under California law.”
For example, a California contributor can tap “Do not sell” in the site footer.
If the API or content causes extra losses, they say they will not pay those.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“We hereby exclude for indirect, special or consequential damages, even if you have previously advised us of the possibility of such damages.”
For example, if a feed outage costs your site ad money, they say they are not .
If they change the rules and you keep using the API, they treat that as you agreeing.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“you will be deemed to have accepted a variation if you continue to use OP after it has been posted.”
For example, a new AI ban posted on the terms page would apply if you keep calling the API.
They collect payment and contract information when you work with them.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“When you submit your personal data such as bank details and signed contracts to support Engagements.”
For example, your bank account number can be stored so they can pay you.
They say they use security measures, but they do not list audits or a bug-bounty program here.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“We have implemented appropriate technical and organisational controls to protect your personal data against unauthorised processing and against accidental loss, damage or destruction.”
For example, they claim controls exist, yet they also say internet sending is not fully secure.
They say this service is not for kids under 13, based on not targeting them rather than a hard ID check.
Read the exact line
Privacy policy
“We do not aim any of our products or services directly at children under the age of 13 and we do not knowingly collect personal data about children under 13 in providing our services.”
For example, a 12-year-old is not supposed to be a contributor customer, but they rely on not aiming at kids.
Disputes go to courts in England.
Read the exact line
Terms of service
“the parties agree to submit to the exclusive of the English courts.”
For example, if you wanted to sue over a cancelled API key, English courts would hear it.
Words to know
Legal words from the lines above, in plain English.
- governing law
- Which country's or state's laws are used to settle any dispute, no matter where you live. For example, a user in Ohio may find the terms are judged under California law.
- third parties
- Any company or person other than you and the app, such as advertisers, partners or analytics firms. For example, an analytics company that receives a record of every screen you tap is a third party.
- sell or share
- Under California law, selling means passing your data to others for money or other value; sharing means passing it on for targeted ads. For example, letting an ad network use your browsing history in return for ad space counts as a sale.
- personal data
- Any information that is about you or can be linked to you, from your name to your phone's ID. For example, your email, your IP address and the list of apps on your phone are all personal data.
- limitation of liability
- A cap on what the company will ever pay you if something goes wrong, often only what you paid in the last year. For example, if a leak of your data costs you thousands, the most you may get back is a month's subscription fee.
- venue
- The specific court or city where any lawsuit must be filed, which may be far from where you live. For example, a user in Florida may have to travel to a court in San Francisco to sue.
How we got here · grade D · score 36/100 · 15 of 15 policy answers backed by a verified quote · 7 not stated
What does the app collect beyond what it needs to work?
They collect account and contract details plus things like IP address, preferences, and data from e-sign tools.
Does it record your voice, face or body, and what happens to that?
Not stated in the documents.
Are your chats and uploads used to train AI models, and is that off by default?
Not stated in the documents.
Can employees or contractors read your conversations, and when?
Not stated in the documents.
Are you profiled or tracked for advertising?
Not stated in the documents.
Do they sell or share your data, and can you opt out?
They share with group companies and vendors, and say some transfers may be a California “sale” you can opt out of.
What rights do they take over what you type and what the AI makes?
Not stated in the documents.
How long do they keep your data after you delete it, and can you delete it in the app?
They may keep data for copyright life plus 70 years. Deletion is by request, with legal exceptions.
Does it build a lasting memory or profile of you, and can you see, edit or turn it off?
Not stated in the documents.
Do they commit to basic security, and have they leaked data?
They say they use technical and organisational controls, but also that sending data online is not fully secure.
Is there a real age gate, and are teens protected?
They say they do not aim services at under-13s and do not knowingly collect that data.
Will they tell you when the rules change, and is the policy specific?
The privacy policy is dated November 2024; they post updates and may email if changes are significant. Terms treat continued use as acceptance.
Can they close your account without warning, and can you get your data out first?
They may cancel or suspend API keys at any time without notice, and you must delete their content at once.
If something goes wrong, who pays?
Use is at your own risk; they exclude many kinds of loss and implied warranties as far as the law allows.
Do subscriptions renew on their own, and can you get a refund?
Not stated in the documents.
The privacy policy is 3,537 words at a college level (Flesch reading ease 41.6); the terms are 3,474 words at a professional or legal expert level.